Matt Hughes Music


The Storm has abated, Black Squall will be retired after just 3 gigs. Rhee McKraken is now a part of Crossed Cannons. It didn't make sense to go forward with two groups playing the same material. Thanks to all who came out to see us! Look for Rhee and Angus along with Howlin Mad Jack in the Future!

Crossed Cannons recorded their shows at Penn's Colony and it will be released as the bands 2nd CD. This marks Rhee's debut with the band! The recordings came out great and we will have it out in the beginning of the year!

Work has commenced on Angus' 2nd Solo CD called Pirates Cove. This CD will feature 11 original tunes! I'm looking forward to getting this out to you!

Soul of the Common Man


After 5 plus years, I finally have completed recording my 2nd solo CD, Soul of the Common Man. I have to say, this was a huge undertaking, in a lot of ways, I want this CD to be special as a lot of the tunes hold a lot of meaning for me. I have songs on here I have never performed, I am hoping to start incorporating some of them into my shows. The CD reflects Victorian era Irish and Irish American tunes. Songs about the Coal Miner's, the Irish Brigade that fought in the Civil War, and the rise of the unions. Closing the CD are two of my original tunes.. Building the Railroad a tune about building the Transcontinental Railroad. Last but not least, When the Craic Was Grand. A tune about the end of the week and going to the Pub where friends become like family. The perfect song to close out this CD. The Track List is as follows:

  1. A Deal with Grim
  2. Rocky Road to Dublin
  3. 3The Highwaymen Song
  4. A Sailor's Journey
  5. The 69th
  6. Peggy Gordon
  7. Mick McGuire
  8. The Coal Miner's Wife
  9. Joe Hill
  10. Ghosts of Molly
  11. Crooked Jack
  12. Strawberry Beds
  13. Building the Railroad
  14. When the Craic Was Grand

I want to thank Kimberly Whallen, and Sean O'Donnell for their contributions to this CD, you guys made the CD even better!

Celtic Shores CD Complete


Principal recording for the new Celtic Shores CD is completed. Mixing and mastering are now taking place. Here is the track list:

Renaissance Steel Release


Renaissance Steel is now complete. You can order a copy here on the Discography page.

Renaissance Steel set for Mastering


I have dropped off the tracks for Renaissance Steel for mastering. Just need to get artwork done and once I receive the masters, I will finally unlease the METAL!


I have decided to part ways with Off Keel for personal reasons, I will continue to perform as Matt Hughes, Bard of the Isles and Angus McHugh Scottish Pirate. I want to thank everyone who has come to see Off Keel over the years, bought a CD or otherwise had a grand time with us! I look forward to seeing you on the road as a solo act or with new musicians!

Running at A Slant Reissue


Off Keel's Running at a Slant Reissue is done! There will be a bonus track that we recorded at Pub Sing at The Blackhawk Manor Renaissance Festival! You can order the new version on the Discography page or when you see us in person!

New Release


Celtic Shores first CD, Weathering the Storm is complete! We are in the final mixing phase and look to have the CD out soon! Go visit the Discography page to pre-order your copy!

Renaissance Steel Announcement


I am happy to announce that Renaissance Steel Principal Recording has finished! The track list is as follows:

New Website!


Welcome to the new website, take some time to look around!